Mango madness, part 5: chopped mangoes on whole wheat pancakes

Goodbye King of Fruits, until next summer

Probably the best thing about the summer has been the amount of mangoes I have consumed this year. Both raw as well as ripe. We ate them like they were going out of style. Which technically they kind of are. Until summer brings them back again.

On the weekend, we decided to have them plain and simple, chopped and dropped over whole wheat pancakes. Its been a long time since I made pancakes and I was in the mood for a hot, hearty breakfast. The last time I made anything of the like was the crepes we had with strawberries and then with oranges. And since both crepes and pancakes pair wonderfully with any fresh fruit, it was an easy decision.DSC_0043We had our pancakes with a drizzle of maple syrup and lots of fruit. You could also use honey, jaggery syrup or even try the mango and lime compote, which I think would go so well. I always squeeze a hint of lime over the syrup, when I am having pancakes so I’m pretty sure the lime and mango would be a genius combination!

This is a good and simple way to use up mangoes if you’re still in the mood. Mango season has officially ended here in Panjim. I know, because the last lot I bought were horrendously expensive, and were just average in taste. So until next season, this is us saying adieu.

What we used
1 cup whole wheat flour
1-2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
2 tablespoons oil/melted butter (I used a neutral cooking oil)

How we made them

First I measured out the flour, added int he baking powder and baking soda to it.

Then, in a smaller bowl, I cracked an egg and whisked it. To it I added the oil, vanilla extract and whisked again. I then slowly drizzled the milk into it, while whisking continuously till it was fairly frothy.

I added the sugar to the flour, gave it a good mix and then added in the mix. At this point, feel free to add a little extra milk, a little bit at a time, if you feel the batter is not at the right consistency. Pancake batter should not be runny, or too thick, but should be easily pourable.

Then I lightly greased the tawa/griddle I had heated, turned the flame down to medium, and poured a ladle-full of it in the centre and let it spread a little.DSC_0047I let it cook, until the edges began to curl up, and then flipped it over. And repeated till we had enough pancakes between the two of us.DSC_0049Then I topped it with chopped mangoes.DSC_0055Followed by a drizzle of maple syrup.DSC_0064And we chowed it down.DSC_0068Done!DSC_0079Pretty, no?

DSC_0074I’m really sad to see the mangoes go, but this recipe would actually work well with any fresh fruit, so its definitely the last of the pancakes around here. But if you think that’s the last of all things fruity around here, have you seen what I have been up to lately?

19 thoughts on “Mango madness, part 5: chopped mangoes on whole wheat pancakes

    • As much as I am a fan of egg-free baking, I have never tried pancakes minus the eggs. So I cant vouch for how they will turn out or taste. I would suggest you try this recipe without the eggs, and maybe half a tsp more of baking powder and baking soda.. I did a quick cursory google search and it seems egg-free pancakes are popular. Havent tried anything of the sort yet, so cannot recommend or vouch for a recipe, but try it out and let me know :) Then maybe I too can make then egg-free next time. If i happens to make an egg-free batch anytime soon, I’ll be sure to update.

      • Thank you so much, that was faster than I expected…it surely doesn’t look like pancakes we are used to seeing but I am gonna give it a try and let you know… Thanks again :)

        One more question, is baking soda and meetha soda same? I mean can they be used replacing each other? I did not find any convincing answer on Internet.

        • I had never heard of meetha soda, until now :P But google tells me Meetha Soda is NOT the same as Baking Soda. Baking Soda is pure sodium bicarbonate, where as Meetha Soda is similar to Baking Powder, which is a combination of Socium Bicarbonate and some alkaline chemical.. I am really not sure though.

          I used weikfield baking powder and Crown baking soda.. If you bake regularly, it might be worth visiting a baking supplies store, where you should be able to get both quite easily. You can buy both and stock up on them. I keep them in refrigerated so they are safe from the humid/moist weather here in Goa.

          • Thanks, will stock them. Have a great day ahead :)…. Btw if we at all get to meet when you visit Delhi or you have some postal address to share, I have a perfect gift for you in mind for all the guidance you provide and inspire me to cook :)

            • Delhi isnt on the agenda any time soon, although I’d love to visit. Far too many fun people in my life are all concentrated in Delhi! If I do visit any time soon, I’ll be sure to let you know :)

              And dont thank me for the inspiration. I’m just bumbling along trying to teach myself a few kitchen-ly things and keeping this blog motivates me to keep at it.. Im more than happy to share the love and spread the inspiration :)

    • I will sometimes do egg free by using dollop of yoghurt or ricotta and whisking, as you would an egg, before adding other ingredients. Works pretty well.

  1. Talk about Mangoes going out with a bang!! Good send-off da! And I haven’t tried whole wheat pancakes yet. Maybe it’s time to trick AK again. If he so much as smells the atta, I’ll never hear the end of it. I’ll disguise it with cocoa or something!!

  2. Pingback: Life and foodblog updates all in one | hAAthi

Leave a comment